Your browser has javascript disabled. Please enable it before running Convergence.

Different types of colleges

Catalog Info

Colleges can be of two types: (i) University/ Constituent College - A college maintained by the university (ii) Affiliated College. Some colleges are given Autonomous Status. UGC has introduced a scheme of Autonomous colleges keeping in view the objectives of the National Education Policy (1986-92). All Colleges under Section 2(f) & 12(b) of the UGC Act are eligible under the Scheme. It also includes details on number of colleges based on affiliated college, constituent / university college, PG center / off-campus center, recognized center.
Chief Data Officer
Name: Dr N Saravana Kumar
Joint Secretary (ICC & TEL)
Ministry/State/Department: Ministry of Human Resource Development
Department of Higher Education
  • +91 1123071486
Room No. 111-C, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi - 110001